

COMMUNITY CONSOLIDATED SCHOOL DISTRICT 64 Park Ridge-Niles

164 S. Prospect Avenue

Park Ridge, IL60068-4079

(847) 318-4300

FAX: (847) 318-4351

For information, contact: Superintendent Sally Pryor, 847-318-4300 Bernadette Tramm, Public Information Coordinator, 847-318-4343

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 10, 2007

New Members Join District 64 Community Finance Committee

Community members continue to show a high level of interest in education finances, as 19 volunteers have joined the District 64 Community Finance Committee (CFC) for 2007-08. A rejuvenated committee met for the first time on Wednesday, December 5 to discuss upcoming projects. This year, a new Legislative group will be joining the three existing subcommittees on Financial Structure, Communications and Spend Management.

As a standing committee to the District 64 Board of Education, the CFC operates as an independent advisory group. "The committee offers an important channel for community input directly to the Board. The subcommittees analyze and research a wide range of issues that impact District finances," according to Superintendent Sally Pryor who chairs the CFC. "It also allows community members to interact with District 64 staff on an ongoing basis, not just when we are in financial need. The CFC has proven one of the best means to nurture rapport and trust with our community. We look forward to getting this year's studies underway," she added.

New members and their affiliations include: Olympia Asimacopoulos, Franklin parent; Kent Bergren, community member; Leanne Berry, Field parent; Michael Calahan, Field/Emerson parent; Laura Cancinos, Carpenter/Emerson parent; Mike Ferraro, community member; Susan Glines, Emerson teacher; Craig Harter, Carpenter parent; Fred Kahn, St. Paul of the Cross parent; Steve Latreille, Field parent and former Board of Education member; Sharon Lawson, Lincoln parent; Jun Lim, Field parent; Margo Lorenz, community member; Laura McGrady, Franklin parent; Tom Nasshan, Lincoln teacher; Renate Stolzer, Field parent; Bernadette Tramm, Public Information Coordinator; John Waters, Field/Emerson parent; and Linda Williger, Emerson parent.

Returning members include: James Bucaro, Carpenter parent; Andy Duerkop, Lincoln teacher; Phil Eichman, Lincoln parent and subcommittee chairman; Craig Elderkin, Roosevelt/Lincoln parent and subcommittee chairman; Lynne Farmer, Carpenter Principal; Bill Gorman, Washington parent; Dave Govertsen, Field teacher; Jerry Kenny, community member; Bruce Martin, Business Manager; Dr. Vicki Mogil, Emerson Principal; Paul Sheehan, Field/Emerson parent; and Diana Stapleton, Field parent and subcommittee chairman.

Board of Education representatives include: President Sue Runyon, a continuing CFC member; Ted Smart; and John Heyde, a former CFC member.

The next CFC meeting will be an education finance training session on Thursday, January 17 at 7:00 p.m. at the District 64 Educational Service Center, 164 S. Prospect Ave., Park Ridge. Meetings are open to the public.

#