Kimberly Area School District

MEDIA CONTACT: Nicole Noonan Marketing & Community Coordinator (920) 788-7900 nnoonan@kimberly.k12.wi.us 425 S. WASHINGTON STREET COMBINED LOCKS WI 54113

> (920) 788-7900 FAX (920) 788-7919

www.kimberly.k12.wi.us

NEWS RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

RECORD BREAKING NUMBER OF KIMBERLY STUDENTS RECEIVE AP SCHOLAR RECOGNITION

Total of 131 Kimberly High School Students Honored by Advanced Placement Program

Kimberly, Wis. – **July 28, 2015** - The <u>Kimberly Area School District (KASD)</u> is proud to announce that a record breaking number of <u>Kimberly High School</u> students have received National Advanced Placement (AP) Scholar recognition. For 2015, the AP program recognized 131 KHS students for their dedication to the pursuit of academic excellence. Last year, a previous record high of 91 students earned AP recognition. "To have a record number of students recognized at the national level for their efforts toward Advanced Placement is a reflection of the tremendous efforts our students put forth as they pursue their college and career goals," said Mike Rietveld, principal of Kimberly High School.

The <u>College Board's AP Program</u> provides motivated and academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school. By doing so, they can earn college credit, advanced placement, or both with successful performance on the AP Exams. The National Scholar level of recognition is granted to students in the United States who receive an average score of at least 4 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams. Ryan Diedrich and Kenneth Grode both received National AP Scholar recognition this year.

Thirty-six additional students were recognized as AP Scholars with Distinction. This level of recognition is granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. Forty students were granted the AP Scholar with Honor award, reserved for students who receive an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on

four or more of these exams. Another 53 students were recognized as AP Scholars for receiving scores of 3 or

higher on three or more AP Exams.

Below is the complete list of KHS students recognized by the AP program:

National AP Scholar

Granted to students in the United States who receive an average score of at least 4 on all AP Exams taken, and

scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.

Ryan Diedrich Kenneth Grode

AP Scholar with Distinction

Granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or

higher on five or more of these exams.

Maxwell Anderson Troy Argall Matthew Bartholomew Annika Betz Nicholas Bockhaus Cory Call Claudia De Valk Tyler Devalk Ryan Diedrich Keegan Downham Noah El-Yaagoubi Collin Evers Holleigh Graminske Kenneth Grode Matthew Guilette Jessica Hanson Mackenzie Heck Drew Holland Rachel Hyland Benjamin Jahnke Jacob W. Johnson Morgan Johnson Brittany Ladd Logan Manderle Alexia Miller Milena Pirman Jacob Riffe Stephanie Rink Megan Ripp Nathan Ruplinger Andrew Sirois Nicholas Stellpflug Claudia Tourville Jacob Van Grinsven Bryce Walbrun Rachel Webster

AP Scholar with Honor

Granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or

higher on four or more of these exams.

Brooke Ashbrenner
Collin Avery
Chelsey Barnes
Angel Bruecker
Kaylynn Carew
Laura Casey
Alyssa Comins
Leah Comins
Kirsten DeBroux
Emily De Roach
Calvin Edwards
Corinne Fredericks
Jackson Helf
Elizabeth Herge

- Savannah Huebner Bryce Hull Matthew Jacobson Elisha King Erik Lepisto Amanda Mc Keown Breanna McFaul Kennedy Mischka Alexander Pott Sidhanth Raman Ellen Reber Hanna Reinkes Nathan Rooyakkers Hailey Ruplinger
- Abigail Sandoz Breanna Schneider Cody Schuelke Paige Schuh Sydnie Schuh Carter Seehafer Kennedy Springhetti Hunter Styka Teagan Twombly Ethan Van Thiel Sabrina VandenHeuvel Derek Vandermoss

AP Scholar

Granted to students who receive scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP Exams.

Avreal Abney Sean Anderson Hibab Ansari Madison Bartol Rachel Bascue Kathryn Beers Brian Blasczyk Kimberly Boots Logan Bruss **Benjamin** Carew Kristin Coenen Sean Cohen Allyson Cotter Isabella Cuomo Morganne De Groot Alyssa Del-Plaine Jason Dotterweich Alex Draheim

Christopher Ebert William Engels Cami Figlmiller Harrison Fischer Quinn Fitzgerald Abigail Foster Melissa Friese Xavier Grullon Dylan Hagmann Anthony Heinz John Huebner Eleanor Jansen Delenn Kerkhof Emily LaCount Samuel Leary Maxwell Lom Douglas Mackovech Ryan McMorrow

Mason Merckx Drake Olivier Grahme Retzlaff Derek Rink Nicholas Rooyakkers Alyssa Sachs Anne Schreiber Reece Schupp Meghan Schwobe Meghan Stecker Nathan Tetzlaff Kimberly Theisen Jesse Van Dehy Holly Van Eperen Grant Verhagen William Wegner Bryce Winnen

About the Kimberly Area School District

The Kimberly Area School District is a progressive public school district committed to providing the best possible education available to students. Its responsibility is to help lead the way in developing well-rounded students and future citizens. The district wants every student to be given the opportunity to reach their potential

through academics, the arts and co-curricular activities. It encompasses approximately 17 square miles and serves approximately 4,900 students in one 4K center, four elementary schools (5K-4), two intermediate schools (5-6), one middle school (7-8) and one high school (9-12). To learn more about the Kimberly Area School District call (920)788-7900 or visit www.kimberly.k12.wi.us.

###